Jan 232019

2019 marks the 40th year Merzbow has been creating his complex universe of noise. We are very pleased to be welcoming him back to Australia as our guest of honour for 2019’s Open Frame at Carriageworks this June.

Nov 202018

Just over 10 years ago Tomasz Bednarczyk contacted us with an amazing edition of uneasy but optimistic ambience, Summer Feelings. It’s with great pleasure we offer his latest edition for Room40, Illustrations For Those Who, a collection that breaks new ground with a series of exploratory minimalist techniques that are beguiling to say the very least.

Sep 112018

Music is an art of time. It is this notion that is the central point of meditation for the new M. Geddes Gengras’s Light Pipe edition. Comprised of almost two and a half hours of incredibly rich and textural ambience, this edition is easily the greatest resolution of his particular relation to sound.

Here’s a little taster…

Sep 102018

Olivia Block played some incredible music for us during her visit to take part in Open Frame:Stockholm back in 2015. Since then we’ve been in discussion about working on an edition together. 132 Ranks, her gorgeous organ masterwork, is the result of these conversations. The piece was composed specifically for the enormous Skinner Organ at Rockefeller Memorial Chapel in Chicago.

Our cassette imprint, A Guide To Saints is also very proud to be releasing two highly focused explorations of singular action.

Vanessa Tomlinson, who very kindly played some critical sections on Wilderness Of Mirrors and Cruel Optimism, delivers her first solo release; The Space Inside. Two incredible works of restraint and detail for concert bass drum and tamtam.

Berlin based Julia Reidy explodes the potentials of guitar with her Beholder edition. A truly personal mediation of timbre, pulse and tonality.